Anti-key chopping Initiative

I’m just going to slap it on today.
Please join the Initiative to save typewriters (especially ones that are in working condition) where ever you can.
Machines under $50 are at risk of being taken away, and being clipped of their keys.

Etsy recently has had a huge explosion of chopped keys.
Adding machines, bakelite and plastic keys are not spared.
This is not acceptable.

I implore you. Stop buying this “jewelry”.
I’m pretty sure that most sellers just chop and stick the key onto the backing without cleaning the keys. I’m not quite sure why people would want to wear dirt, grime, tar and possibly ickies around your neck, wrists and ears.
Like I said in my last Anti-Key Chopping post, the “jewelry” you see online now of days are just… terrible.
Today I also found the first Etsy key chopper in Australia.

* * * * * * * * * * * *

I am a huge advocate for a more sustainable source of “keys”. They are beautiful, sure, but there are so many alternatives out there that you can use for jewelry and craft things, and I’m sure they’re a heck lot cleaner.

My very favourite seller who started the revolution for wooden typewriter keys is porkchopshop.
They are beautifully made, look like original keys, and are only $7 for a “Full alphabet with extra vowels”.
Click on the pictures to get to the listing – buy yourself some today!

They even have a full-keyboard set!!!

I’m also really proud to see this on Etsy Australia! (Click on the picture to get to the listing)

* * * * * * * * * * * *

Join us.
Save the typewriter.
Share the alternatives – they are out there.

I leave you with a manifesto found on Anna S‘s blog.

One Comment

Commence Comment

