T-minus Brisbane

The week before Brisbane was a rather busy one — I think it was only one night that week that I had dinner at home. The weekend before was a combined lawn sale, where I had managed to sell of half the things I brought including five batches of Berry Oat Muffins that I had baked… then went on to purchase a Sunbeam stand mixer for $30, five bags of fillers for toys for $10 and three garbage *gulp* bags of clothes for $20.
How to say no?

Fast forward to Friday.
The husband asked me at work: “What time I’ll need to be getting up tomorrow?” My answer? “SLEEP IN.”
I had basically forgotten that it was this upcoming weekend that I would be magically transported to Brisbane for the Type-In.
Silly me.

I was already at work and heading for a company dinner that night, so there was not much time to pack much less wash the outfits that I wanted to bring. Lucky for me, the husband is well versed in doing the laundry!


This may or may not have been the winning entry for the pizza competition for work dinner. It’s a brownie pizza with light cream cheese and fresh berries on top! Oh, and ice cream on the side.

After getting home from dinner I shoved all I needed into my handbag and popped myself into bed for the 6am red-eye flight.
I had planned to bring my Mignon type cylinders and a couple other typewriter things, but I think Jetstar wouldn’t let me smuggle it in with the 10kg carry on limit. The Adler Favorit 2 is about 7kg!


The flight to Brisbane from Darwin wasn’t very pleasant — three squealing young families to the right of me, a lady next to me with no sense of personal space, a lady in front of me kicking the typewriter case and clipping my toes ever so often, a man behind me with a knee-jerk problem and the only 12 windows in the whole plane open, with the glaring sun over the horizon.
Everywhere else on the plane was quiet and dark… with most of the occupants catching up on some shut eye.

I was probably in grumpy vampire ogre mode, but it was pretty bad flight. I was very glad to get off the plane… which is another post in itself.

Commence Comment

