Brisbane Hours 1-12

Hour 1 to 3

Getting off the plane was so good.
The sky was cloudy but the sun shone through and the air smelt different but good. Brisbane reminded me of Melbourne and Perth, and had a interesting mix of both. Oh, did I mention it was my first time in Brisbane?

Shuffling my hand luggage around I made a mad dash for the gate exit.
It wasn’t long till I spotted Scott K and “OH-IT’S-YOU!” exchanges he swept me away to proper typewriter hunting.


Brisbane CBD


What seemed to be a very tall and steep highway on a cloudy day

First stop: Woolloongabba Antique Centre.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There was a whole heap of vintage and vintage styled items, many of which if I hadn’t had any self control or determination, would have somehow made its way with me to Darwin.
We spotted quite a few typewriters there, perhaps 10 or so, but none came home with us.

It was a sad that the first typewriter thing I saw was this:


The typewriters we did see:




IMG_0153 IMG_0154 IMG_0155

Hour 4 to 6

Scott took me to a nice cafe for lunch, the suburb name I am forgetting already! I think it was called New Foundland or something (sorry Scott!) Remembering what my colleague had said about cafe standards, I went for the eggs Benedict on wholemeal bread. It was very yummy, and I nearly didn’t finish it all.

We then made our way to Paddington Antiques — an ex theater made into an antiques place. We didn’t spend too long there and we only found a lonely Halda standard priced at $200+. Uh, no thanks mate.


Original mouldings grace Paddington.


After Paddington Scott had to stop by a servo to top the tank up.
There was a very large column of smoke just dancing in the afternoon sky. Scott and I couldn’t quite figure out what was happening, but a big something-something was on fire… and had been burning for the last two hours or so according to the servo folk. Later on we found out that it was a grassy floodplain that had caught on fire, probably due to someone tossing a lit cigarette to the dry grass.

Scott was very kind and generous to invite me to his home. His collection is something to drool after, and Scott was very kind to let me dribble over a few of them:


It was like being on that Oscar’s set full of typewriters!


Obligatory picture with the Art-Deco Lady Lamp.


We spent some time comparing the innards of the two machines and concluded that my green Adler was later made, and is it’s original birthday suit.


View from the couch where I had a quick nap.

Hour 7 to 13

Scott had arranged for Burrito dinner with Steve Snow and took two typewriters along for the night. I didn’t have much to do with Steve before, so I wasn’t too sure what to expect. It was pleasant surprise when he rocked up with a ready smile and stories to tell!

Dinner was done and dusted quickly – the mini beef burrito I had was delicious, and I think might have been the first proper burrito I have ever had with black beans, brown rice and guacamole.
It had started to get quite windy too which was something I did not expect. I have a pull over in most of the pictures, how embarrassing and how Darwinite of me!

Ummm, yeah. Scrap that, it was typewriter time!


Scott K and his Adler Tippa in fancy dancy suitcase case.


Steve Snow and a Aristocrat Baby (right?)

It was barely 5 minutes into taking the typewriters out of their cases people around us were talking/loudly whispering about typewriters (pffft or oh wows) and how “cool” it was to have one. Steve had started writing up about the beer he was having for dinner and then we were basically inundated by a very excitable 8 year old. It was heaps awesome she was so interested in the typewriter and chatted non-stop about it. She, her two siblings and us oldies had little typing competitions to see who could reach the bell first and little spelling bee’s. Very fun.

This little girl looked at me grinning like a kid in a candy store.

I offered to type her a little story and she just beamed like the Bat Signal.
“Write me a story of an elephant! AND A KANGAROO! Yes a kangaroo!!!”


Scott wrote her a little thing about a shark and whale.


With her little trophies at hand and telling her parents that she would take it to her show and tell we said goodbyes to the children and left the burrito place, feeling totally chuffed to be the “Cool Typewriter People”, and headed for Coot-tha.


My phone does absolutely no justice whatsoever to the vastness of Brisbane city up on Coot-tha. There was a cool glow of the city and outlines of homes and tall buildings. The sky had little light pollution and shone stars like a champ.
I’ve never seen a combination quite like this before.
It was pretty high up on a hill so it was quite cold. The guys had ice creams (?!) while I tried my very best not to fail and freeze in the cold with my little takeaway cup of hot chocolate… and just stared out into the beautiful sight laid before us.

Steve Snow then invited us for a cuppa at his home, and showed us his collection in a mini type-out on his patio. I don’t have many pictures, but he has a really cool collection and we chatted about purchases, fixes and all sort of typewriter stuff.


I’ve almost laid hands on all colours of the Corona 4’s, this blue one just ticked one off the list. More about Corona 4’s in another post to come.


*Sigh* I felt like a magpie around this piece. Typing on a Noiseless was very different too. I wasn’t quite used to the “tumfff” sounds it made instead of the usual “THWACK”.

12 hours in Brisbane already and I felt incredibly spoilt.
What next of the remaining 10 or so hours Brisbane?


Commence Comment

