I’ve got a nasty habit of collecting and purchasing things in pairs… Check out the suite of typewriter pairs I had at one stage.

My husband gives me “the look” every time we hit the shops and I exit with pairs of everything (sometimes multiple pairs, oh dear). I can’t help it, and I’m beginning to think it’s a real problem!

Proof of my OCD-ness is the horde of Model P’s. The most I have had at any time was probably 4 as per this post (two dark greens, one lime green, and one crinkled blue). Very pretty together, but I ended up keeping just three (Lime green, forest green and peach).

Two’s dandy but three’s a crowd for sure!


So how did I end up with three of a kind?
Honestly… I haven’t got the slightest of clues. :/


Lyla came first from Germany about 20 weeks ago. It already had a known drawstring issue, and that the ribbon covers were missing. The original eBay listing had the machine beautifully pictured, and I assumed that the keyboard was a German one. Imagine the surprise when it was revealed to be an Italian board! I got onto cleaning it pretty quickly, and I unknowingly smoothed out the rose gold panels… I thought it was funny look dirt then I saw it sparkle in the light. :(

The innards have odd rusting and oxidation, hopefully there’s a cure out there, somewhere.

I wasn’t game enough to fix the drawstring up till recently. I think the recent Type-In gave me written courage ;)


Fast forward to 17 weeks ago — this handsome bugger of gold and black turned up around Christmas time complete with original manual and in great condition. Went a little bit smarter with this one and used a toothbrush for the gold panels. The gold on the panels aren’t as bright as the lavender one, but still really handsome.


Then 3 weeks ago this scarlet mountain ash stunner of a smasher made it to our door right before I went away to Brisbane. It was a little bit of a wait for Scarlette to get to me from The States, the eBay seller was sick.
Gleaming innards, scratched hot body and a little problem with twisted cat gut is everything a collector wants. Wrangling the drawstring was a bit interesting but got it settled after an hour or so. Types like a dream!

Looking at it still gives me the shivers.


Putting the three up together made me realise that I have touched almost all colours in the DuPont DUCO® Finish… well at least in the base colours.  The cream and gold one is the only one in my to-touch list… or to-own :)

Be ready for more Corona 4’s! (and a manual)


J’s Mr. Green, Singapore


Steve Snow’s blue wonder, Brisbane


Ms K’s maroon madness, Singapore


Original size manual


Web sized manual

I think that’s enough Corona 4’s for the day, don’t you think?
Have a good weekend!


  1. Another nice post, Nat. Thanks.

    I think it’s funny that the Corona manual is typeset with a double space after every period, which is standard practice in typewriting but is discouraged in typesetting and desktop publishing, where a single space is preferred. Here you can see why: the double space looks awkward in set type. It’s a case of a typewriter company following typewriter practice.

    Is there a way to download directly the original size manual?

    == Michael Höhne


  2. You’ re normal.
    I love those Corona typewriters even though I have none at the moment.
    I do have 7 Skyriters and 6 Hermes 3000s in the collection though.


    1. I would love to have 6 Model P’s at one stage, but it’s way too expensive with the rip off postage prices there is… Do know that I am jealous of your 6 Skyriters and 6 Hermes. (of which, I have none of.)

      Thanks Bill! :D


  3. Sweet machines! They also made “college” Corona Fours with names of US colleges and the school colors … more to collect.

    I think Lyla has a French keyboard.


  4. Hahah I have a habit of buying one thing and “a spare” as well. Nice looking machines. How do they type? Of all the colours, I like the blue most; although there’s something to be said for classic black and gold too.


    1. Thanks Inky :)
      The Corona 4’s are pretty, but type okay only. I do prefer post 1929 models though, it seems a little bit more polished in design and little less tricky.
      Probably won’t use it to type really long letters, but maybe just for a breather. I’ve been finding myself going back to my Model P more. Maybe because it’s out in the open ready to type on!


  5. Gonna have to snag one of these one day. But first, I should thin out the collection a little. I too have a habit of getting things in pairs…at least. Once you have three of something, that’s a collection. Or at least the beginning of one.
    Exquisite typewriters, Miss N!


  6. Well, having pairs of everything, is making fixing things a lot easier! Just compare it to the other one and then copy it on the first. Lovely Corona’s Nat!


Commence Comment

