Easter Olympias

Hey guys! How was your Easter long weekend?
It’s ANZAC long weekend this week, so better smash out last week’s musings before I put up a heap of pictures from the ANZAC parade.

The four days over Easter was a good break for us, and the weather had been delightful. It rained on Friday and I spent the day on the couch catching up on sleep and shows. The rest of the days had be quite dry, which is a good change from the sweltering humid heat Darwin is well known for.

Saturday seemed like a good day to clean typewriters so out came the Olympias — SM2, Splendid 99 and a SM7.

Please excuse the terrible pictures, I had my phone in a zippy bag.


The girls that have Pinkmett  now returned my Olympia SM2 Big Black Boy that’s in the big black case. Not too much of a fix or clean, but does anyone know how to fix an odd case of double backspacing? I think it might be a spring issue, but it’s not too much of a worry.



This Splendid had quite a fair bit of surface rust – enough to hinder the typebars from impacting the platen. A soak and scrub seemed to have helped… oh my goodness, there was heaps of gross stuff in this one. Eggs and poos of all kinds and even a live silverfish, meeep.

Life of a case-less machine, sigh!



Not sure if you can see it, but the grill area of this pink SM7 has sprouted a mild case of mold. The keys were pretty grimy too.


Post dunk Splendid


Just hangin’.


Re-felting the insides is always fun :D


Pah my poor typing.
I really am pleased with how this one turned out, and fixing the ribbon vibrator and bell spring in 20 minutes was some-what an achievement unlocked. Oh yus, thank you Scott for the help! :)



I got this pink SM7 quite awhile ago, maybe it was 5 months ago? It arrived with a stuck carriage shift which moved back into place with a shove and help with some spray. The body and innards cleaned up very nicely.
It’s the first later model Olympia SM’s I’ve laid hands on… I can see why people rave about them. The aesthetic value of this machine paired with responsive typebars that remind me of ninja chops. Quick snaps of deadly force from the pretty un’!

The platen on this machine has the tell-tale gridmarks of a used machine. There is a sad story to this machine too – I think it was dropped on it’s left side in some point of its life. The back of the machine is slightly warped and the left hand knob turns off-center. Nothing is hindered mechanically, so I just left it as it is.

Big things are happening, and I’m on a mad rush to get everything ready in time.
Will tell more soon, have a great week guys! :)


Typewritten on the quiet Thummper, black Olympia Splendid 99


  1. Excellent work there, Nat! Can’t say that my Splendid 99 types smoothly, though. Definitely has a rattly feel to it. Might have to bust it out and have another bash at it.


  2. Count me among those who like the SM7. Really a satisfying machine to type on, and very robust design. I can see one getting dropped and still keep trucking along. (:


Commence Comment

