The Etsy Experience

The Preparation

A theme was announced about two weeks to the date. Of course I had a minor freak out and spent hours pouring over Pinterest to find ideas to fit typewriters into the Alice in Wonderland theme. Bought a stack of art paper and got on to making little origami things… I think it was something like 15 hours worth of origami folding and following how-to’s on YouTube.
2 flamingos, 2 rabbits, 2 teapots, 8 teacups and a mad hatter’s hat — it was totally worth it. Everyone loved it!

Oh man, those business cards.
It was a weary thursday. After a long day of work we dragged ourselves to the stationary store to pick up a few more things that I needed for the markets and the business cards that I had sent to print nearly a week prior. There was quite a queue at 5 o’clock but that dissolved pretty quickly. It was our turn — I gave my name and reason why I was there to the nice lady who was full of smiles… and it turned into a worrisome frown when she couldn’t find my cards. Somehow, they had lost the stack of my 250 business cards.
I did need them pretty urgently, so the printers offered to reprint it right away. “It’ll take about half an hour to an hour,” they said. Right.
We spent the next hour and a half just looking through every aisle in the shop and then sitting down in front of the counter looking like hungry zombies with death-like stares into the depths of mobile devices.
With what seemed like forever the lady called us and handed us a bag full of cards, apologising profusely. She had added in another 50 cards for sorry-we-made-you-wait-long-time… it definitely made me smile.


Etsy Sunday

It was an early start for us – we had to be at the grounds at 7am. I didn’t get any sleep at all the night before so I was just stumbling along literally chucking everything in the back of the car.

The Botanical Gardens is a beautiful spot for a market. It was quite hot in the morning, and during the set up I found myself needing to take my vest and hat off. The husband left me there after the set up and I went looking at the other stores just to see what Alice in Wonderland stuff they had done. I wish I had taken pictures then!


Back of the car


Chocolate cupcake om nom nom. Best way to start a market day!


The Natslaptaps stall!



I really liked how the decor turned up. I have a video of the table setting, but WordPress is being silly. I did a mock up the day before, and it’s on the Natslaptaps Instagram account.

Oh! The gold coin thing. Yes.
Ummm, I put up a small gold coin drive to raise funds for a local animal rescue group. People would get to keep whatever they typed on the small sheet of paper as a token. The typewriters were very, very well loved. Heaps of kids had a great time — there were a couple that were just ridiculously cute.
A 3 year old kid just typed the same letter the whole line just to get to the end. It wasn’t the bell sound that he liked, but the return action! He had the biggest grin plastered on his face. :D
There was a 5 year old girl that spent a good 20 minutes just typing out a whole page of nice sentences like “I love my mum because….” and about the school she was in. It was beautiful to witness the amount of concentration she had into typing the page and her smile when she got to the end, realising her achievement. Her mum actually left her at my stall to look at the other stalls.

I’m just really glad that a heap of kids had a go. Even the shy ones wrote a simple sentence or their name at least.
The drive was really successful too – the typewriters raised $142.50!!! :D
Thanks everyone that did put a coin to the cause!


Overall Experience

It was a pretty long, and hot day. By noon I was ready to leave my stall and stalk some of the food stalls for some lunch. The husband saved me with a filet o’ fish and a small sprite from the Big M. We had some delicious ice cream too. We finished packing up at 4 or so and got home at 5.

I’m really glad that I did do this — it was really fun and rewarding to see the looks on people’s faces when they saw the machines. I had quite a few conversations with the young and old, many reminisce about the old times and how the computer seemed to have revolutionized the print world.. and how carbon copy paper was everyone’s common enemy. XD
I’m still recovering from the exhaustion (plus the softball game the day before, which is another post in itself) so I might end this post with some thank yews.



1. To my awesome work colleagues for making it to the markets (with your dogs!) and giving me a break from my repetitive sales pitches. You guys are so awesome. Like, mind blown awesome.

2. Etsy Territorians for putting up with me. :p

3. Nascence Design my neighbor for all the silly convos! I’ll see you around sooooooon

4. Everyone else that I failed to mention. Thank you and sorry!

5. Drum roll for the last and most important person….. My husband, the only one to stick with me doing all sorts of crazy things and giving me reassurances with all the design work and inputs to stuff AND giving me rides everywhere to pick stuff up. Basically putting up with me. Truckloads <3 you.


Wokay, I’m sure there’s heaps more I was meant to say but that’ll do for now.
Till next post! :)


  1. Great writing Nat! Sounds like a lovely event too and your stand looks soo appealing. I can see how much thought and effort went in.

    I think it’s great to see kids enjoying writing on paper, the whole non-virtual experience really. Can’t wait to see what you do next!


  2. Hi Nat So lovely to have a fun and interesting neighbour at Etsy Markets. Ridiculous conversation is most important for the quiet times. Shall I see your smiley face this Sunday?
    Hope so! x k Nascense


Commence Comment

