It’s Perfekt

Oh gosh, I never got around posting this! 

I spent today home, which has been very nice. Nanna-napped the afternoon away, woke up to find the hubs has got burgers for dinner. Lucky me :)

On to the good stuff!



Lucky for me the largest grommet size I’d bought were Cinderella perfect! They were taller than the originals so the locking arms of the base are just random swingin’ things. 

 Small side story about the grommets — they were well and truly melted into the base. The once pliable rubber was stiff like leather and proving to be like barnacles on rock. Using a small screwdriver to pry the black mess was proving a useful tool, using the long arm as a lever at times and the flat end as a scraper. 

At one stage I had my left hand holding this particular rubber foot and used the screwdriver to stab and scrape. It just refused to budge! I managed to shimmy the screwdriver head into the middle section and gave the biggest shove I could. Lo and behold the piece fell apart in tiny bits and wait… what’s this red spot on the floor?

With that shove I had taken a chunk of flesh off the first knuckle line of my left pointer finger. 

Bleeding was one thing, but then I found myself racking my brains when my last tentinus shot was. Of course I couldn’t remember, ha!

My finger is all good now, the scar’s just part of the knuckle line and a reminder to use a rag as a finger saver. 

The dual colour keyboard is still a mystery — I like to think that previous owner Nanna had a wonderful sense of humour or she did she have some sort of dyslexia that required the keyboard to be clearly separated to make typing easier?


In any case, this machine was worth the blood sweat and tears and such a beautiful addition to the collection. 

Thanks for reading guys ;)


  1. Since it has German function keys, I wouldn’t be surprised if it originally had a German keyboard and it’s been heavily modified with new typeslugs and new keys!


  2. Gorgeous!

    I agree with Nick, this was a German keyboard (though possibly a QWERTY one) with characters on the right such as Ö, Ä, Ü, ß. When they were replaced, whoever did the job put in new, black key legends. At least, it’s a theory!

    As for your experience …. Nat, that’s not what they mean when they say “sit down at the typewriter and bleed”!


  3. Pretty really is an understatement on this machine. Real looker!
    I do have to agree about the remodeling on the keyboard. Those black keys are where the German characters are located. Qwerty is not that uncommon to be found on a German machine as people think. Living right next to the border, I’ve seen a lot of them.


Commence Comment

