Three things I want to remember as a freelancer 

One: Not perfect is alright.

It’s hard being the slightly OCD person that I am. I’ve found myself coining in too many hours trying “fix a thing” just because I “kind of” didn’t like it. Just recently I spent something like 5 hours trying to find the right shade of green that was contrasty enough of web and legible in print.

The client was happy with whatever I first picked, but not me. Which brings me to the next point:

Two: It’s not all about “me”.

I suppose one of the pitfalls I’ve found is that now the client can fit around my schedule, what I feel like doing, when I feel like doing it and  how I want to do it. Sometimes you just need to procrastinate less and do it for the client because they’ll appreciate it… then you can:

Three: Appreciate yourself more.

Treat yo’self. Good, bad, big, small. I’ve been taking breaks now and again just to enjoy the moment.

Eat lots of ice cream.

2 Comments

  1. Good points.
    Number two sounds like me. Mrs. keeps me in line so I know it is not all about me even when I want it to be.

    Reply

Commence Comment